File:Emblem of Israel.svg

Israel’s government is based primarily around a legislature known as the Knesset, an executive branch composed of a President and Prime Minister with the Cabinet and a judicial branch with a system of secular and religious courts.

The Knesset acts as the legislature. It is a 120-member unicameral body elected by the Israeli public. Using party list proportional representation, Israelis appoint members based on the percentage of votes. Basically, if a particular party gets at least two percent of the vote, it is allocated a seat on the Knesset.

This body then elects a President and Prime Minister and recommends the appointment of a State Comptroller. This, along with a group of ministers comprising the Cabinet of Israel, makes up the executive power of the nation. The Knesset can also remove any of the appointments to these positions.

Judicial power in the country rests with the Ministry of Justice, an independent court system providing justice. This system is overseen by the President of the Supreme Court and the Minister of Justice.

All rules for governing Israel are described in the Basic Law: The Government. There are three primary political parties in the nation: social democrats known as Labor Zionism, conservative known as Revisionist Zionism and a centrist Religious Zionism party. Minor parties run the spectrum of extreme Orthodox, no-Zionist left-wing groups and anti-Zionist Iaraeli-Arab organizations.

Israel Government Info

Similar Posts: